Fall Semester Wrap Up

While I should be wrapping up some presents right now, I’ve decided to take a little time to write a wrap up of my fall semester instead. It has been by far the hardest semester I’ve had at UNCW with tons of ups and downs. My schedule got really crazy towards the end and I barely had time to write for my blog. But thankfully, I have plenty of downtime at home here in NJ so I can write a bit more.

I finished the end of the semester with all A’s (and one stupid B), and will officially graduate magna cum laude from UNCW in May. It’s insane to fathom that I have just one semester left at my amazing school, so I’m really going to enjoy every last second when I’m back in Wilmington in January.

Since I last wrote, a lot of things happened back at school. I hosted Student Ambassador Senior Sendoff at my house where we celebrated and said goodbye to our two graduating seniors, Austin and Kristen. It was fun having all my ambassador friends at my beach house. The last few days I spent in Wilmington were really great, partly because of the great weather but mostly because I was free from everything school-related. I finally had some free time to enjoy hanging out with friends and celebrate. A few really good friends graduated this semester so I had the chance to see them walk at the commencement ceremony. Shout out to Molly, Austin, Kristen, Elias, and Andy! It was exciting to see them parading around in their caps and gowns, but also sad because some of these people are leaving Wilmington and I don’t know when I’ll see them next. The weirdest thing about going to the graduation was the one thought I had in the back of my mind… that will be me, right there in those seats, next semester. Just five more months. It’s really starting to creep up on me, and I don’t like it one bit.

544226_10153650830540121_510788615_n 1462855_10153650831215121_441561870_n

The second I got back to Wilmington after my Thanksgiving break, I spent most of time at the library studying and working on some major group projects. The work that I’m most proud is my final public relations campaign project that I worked on all semester with a group of three other girls in my PR II class. We worked so hard on putting together an entire PR plan for our client, the public relations/integrated marketing communication/advertising (PR/IMC/AD) subdiscipline in the Department of Communication Studies. After countless hours of meeting together and coming up with creative theme and design ideas, we came up with a campaign to help promote and improve the subdiscipline in my major. My group came a long way from the beginning of the semester when we got randomly paired together. None of us knew each other’s’ names, and I was unsure of how we’d work together. I am really thankful for Morgan, Crystan, and Marlene (AKA Jennifer’s Angels) as my group mates and new good friends. On the last day of finals, we presented our entire PR campaign and 100-page plan to our client, and I even shed a tear when it was over because I was just so proud of how it all came together. I always take pride in my work, but because of all the time we’ve spent on this project, I had an even stronger connection to this campaign. When it was all over, my professor sent us all an email praising our work and how she is looking forward to using some of the materials we produced for the client. I’m really happy that I found a subject that I’m passionate about and enjoy learning. My PR II course was a great step to get experience in producing materials like I would in a professional career.

1484167_10200932665224555_56160790_n

Now that I’ve mentioned the whole career thing… I guess I can expand on the new project that I’m now working on over break: an online portfolio. I’ve spent hours creating a website that showcases all the work I’ve done during my time in college, including both my professional experience with internships and the course work I’m most proud of. My portfolio will also display my resume and recommendations so that potential employers can really get a feel for what I’ve accomplished so far. The site is actually almost finished, and once I publish it I will post the link on this blog!

More to come soon about the rest of Winter Break and Christmas! Happy holidays everyone!

2 thoughts on “Fall Semester Wrap Up

  1. Congrats on the magna cum laude, that’s amazing! Yeah, I definitely felt the same way as graduation was approaching, but just make the most out of every day, meet as many people as you can, and have fun! A belated Happy holidays to you!

Leave a Reply

