Semester Crunch Time

Hello all,

Just thought I’d catch you up on my life. I’ve been somewhat busy with school and my involvements but nothing too overwhelming. I’ve learned to really enjoy life recently… pushing away all the negatives and focusing on the positives and things that make me happy. I’ve mentioned it before, but I am so incredibly thankful for the awesome friends in my life. It’s the little things I want to look back on and appreciate about my senior year: getting froyo with Molly, playing intermural basketball with friends, going out to eat with Raleigh, bonding with the AGD senior girls, eating cookie butter and hanging with Austin, walking on the beach in the sunshine… the list can go on. These are the things worth mentioning and remembering during my senior year.

It’s the home stretch for this semester. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and half of my senior year will be over in just a few short weeks. In a week from tomorrow I will be flying home for Thanksgiving (a much needed break and some home-lovin’). After those 5 days, it’s back to Wilmington for 2 days of class and a week of finals. And that’s it. While it’s simple to write about right now, I’m in for some rough waters ahead. I’ll eventually brace myself for the work that will soon slam me, but not even the thought of finals is bringing me down at the moment.

While I am recognizing and appreciating all the great things I have in my senior year, I can’t help but think about my future. Recently, I’ve become somewhat consumed by the idea of what will happen to me upon graduation in May. The idea of not knowing where I’ll be in a year is a very intimidating thought. So I’ve spiffed up my resume, spoke with the career center, and have begun the job search.  For those of you that don’t know, I really want to pursue a career in public relations in the entertainment industry. Finding a job may be the scariest process I’ll experience in my life. I know it’s kind of early to start applying, but next semester is right around the corner so I want to have an idea of what I’ll be looking into. It’s CRUNCH TIME. I know this is just the beginning of probably a long, stressful, straining process, but I’m glad to have an idea of what I want to do with my life. Who knows where I’ll be living, but the thought of moving to a new city is frightening and thrilling at the same time. If anyone has any suggestions about tips for the job hunt, I’d love to hear from you!

I’ve just registered for my last semester of classes and it was truly a strange feeling. I’m definitely looking forward to my classes that will start in January and have successfully scheduled everything to have NO FRIDAY CLASSES (yay for senior privileges). Also starting in January, I will be interning at Cape Fear Community College in the Public Information Office which is located downtown. I’m really excited to work with their office because the supervisors seem extremely friendly and are willing to give me work that is relevant to what I want to do for a career. I’ll be working on PR projects, such as writing press releases, updating social media, taking photos at events, and writing (hopefully) published pieces on the college’s updates. More to come about this next semester…

Okay that seems like enough of an update for now. Hopefully I’ll post at the end of the week to share more about this FINAL full week of classes (it’s crazy how time flies)!

One thought on “Semester Crunch Time

  1. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and just keep a positive attitude and all will be well. The future awaits you with open arms, young lady! AC

Leave a Reply

