Senior Year Madness

This post is more therapeutic for me than anything else. Disclaimer: For those of you who don’t want to read a whole few paragraphs of me venting about my life, stop and exit now…

Going in to senior year, I knew I would be dealing with a lot of things on my plate. Usually, I’m not one to crack under pressure or really give in to stress. In fact, being busy is something I need in my life for motivation. But the past few weeks have been really hard on me. For those of you who want a refresher, here’s my list of involvements:

–          Student Ambassadors – Secretary

–          Club Basketball

–          Alpha Gamma Delta sorority

–          DIS (Directed Individual Study): Co-Coordinator for Rock for a Cure, Breast Cancer Benefit Concert (the biggest commitment of them all for now)

Not to mention, I have a full load of some tough classes:

–          Public Relations II

–          Media Law & Ethics

–          Broadcast Journalism

–          Communication Theory

–          Lifespan & Human Development (a basic study psychology requirement)

OH and I also have two jobs:

–          Sales Associate at American Eagle

–          Hostess at Fox & Hound

SO, with that being said, some days I’m on campus from 10am to 10pm… Mondays are the worst. I’m trying really hard to balance school with involvements and hanging out with friends, but honestly it feels like I barely have a social life because of my hectic schedule. Interacting with friends only happens if I see them on campus or at a meeting. It really sucks.

Being overwhelmed is not a fun feeling. I’ve been losing sleep, having anxiety, and worrying a LOT recently. I’m really working on cutting down some of these commitments to actually get some free time. I just spoke with the Fox & Hound managers and they were understanding of me taking a break from working there. As much as I’d like to make money, my mental sanity is a bit more important at the moment.

I don’t really have much more to write besides the fact that I’m trying to take each day at a time. I’m slowly realizing that I’m only human and I can’t change the number of hours in a day. On Sunday I took a power walk around the Wrightsville Beach loop which really helped clear my mind. I need to start taking advantage of the fact that I’m literally less than 50 yards from the ocean and have a beautiful bay/marsh area that’s a 5 minute walk to get to. Also, I’ve been resorting to music for comfort. The song “Be OK” by Ingrid Michaelson popped up on my itunes the other day and I thought it was actually perfectly fitting for my life right now.

Seriously though, I don’t want to worry people about me being down. I’m trying to stay positive and tackle each day as it comes. Luckily, I have some really awesome friends here who I can vent to about this stuff (shoutouts to Raleigh, Esme, Taylor, Molly, & Julia). As the fall weather approaches, I’m going to try my best and enjoy my beach house while the sun is out and it’s warm outside. Did I mention I got a hammock for my balcony? I’m really excited about that.

Whoever actually read this post, thanks for putting up with my venting and complaining. I promise I won’t do this often, but sometimes it feels good to let out some frustration. I may actually have a free Saturday night this weekend to go out. Things are looking up (I think). If anyone has suggestions on how to get rid of some stress and anxiety, I’m all ears! That’s all for now. Back to my night of sending emails, doing homework, and making to-do lists out the wazoo!

4 thoughts on “Senior Year Madness

  1. Just a bump in the road. Soldier on and it will all fall into place. Don’t know you well but enough to know that you can handle all this and do it well! Claudette

  2. Definitely try to find the right balance, whether that means taking on less activities or not. Especially since it’s your senior year, try to really just enjoy your last year because the college experience is really a special one. You have to trust that everything will work out in the end. Best of luck and I look forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

