Finished With Freshers Week… Unfortunately

Last night wrapped up the Freshers Week events and it couldn’t have been more perfect. As I mentioned in my last post, the theme was “back 2 skool” so everyone dressed up like schoolgirls/boys. I decided to channel the throwback Brittney Spears schoolgirl look and rocked a tie and pigtail braids… definitely a famous 90’s look! The first part of the night my friends and I hung out by the bar where a DJ was set up playing tons of American music (which EVERYONE knew). After mingling for a little while, we made our way into a larger event hall with a stage (where BOP and the comedy show took place) to dance along to some more music and wait for S Club to take the stage. Finally, three members of S Club 7 came on stage asking everyone one: “Are you ready to take it back to 1999?” Everyone freaked out screaming frantically since these songs basically defined our childhoods. I definitely knew most of the songs they sang, but some people were jumping around singing every single word. You could tell they were S Club 7 fanatics. While their voices sounded the same when singing all their big hits (S Club Party, Reach, Never Had A Dream Come True, Don’t Stop Movin’, Bring It All Back), they definitely didn’t look like those young 20 year olds anymore which made me realize how much time actually passed since their peak of fame. Nevertheless, the concert was so much fun and everyone got to relive some great childhood music.

After about 30 minutes of the concert, people started to get pretty pushy in the event hall so we left there and made our way to a big outside tent hosting a silent disco. This was by far one of the best parts of Freshers Week, hands down. We waited in a short queue (or line, as we Americans call it) and when we entered the inside of the huge tent there was a station with people giving out headphones. I put my headphones on an immediately heard some music blasting into my ear. But here’s the catch: there are two stations of music you can choose between to listen to. So half the people were listening to station one (more rock and jam out type of music) and the others to station two (club hits for dancing). It was the coolest thing switching back and forth between the stations because you can tell which stations people are listening to by their dancing to certain beats. Another thing to note is that the tent wasn’t completely silent, in fact there were so many people singing out the songs really loudly but with no music out loud. It was such a cool experience! Hopefully the school will host another one of those because it was such a unique dance and I’d love to do it again.

Once we were all silent disco-ed out, we went outside of the union bar where there were stations of different food for people to buy after a long night of dancing and singing. The cheeseburger I got may have been one of the best I’ve ever had in my life (haha, I was so hungry). After completely demolishing my burger with friends, I finally made our way back to my flat and passed out around 3 AM. Last night was insane!

Needless to say, I slept in today and got some much needed beauty sleep. I woke up to a dreary and cold rainy day (one of the first ones since I’ve been here so far!) so I definitely will be just resting and hanging out in my flat today so I can be super prepared for the start of classes tomorrow!

 

 

Leave a Reply

